DS5 intermittent working satnav/radio

This unit is the eMyWay system, also referred to as RT6, RNEG2, or WIPNAV+ for the Peugeot platform and made by Magneti Marelli.
Main Features: The eMyWay colour satellite navigation has high resolution mapping, Bluetooth Telephone & Audio Streaming supported profiles, USB support for Media files & CD

Moderator: RichardW

Pawel_K
Posts: 5
Joined: 11 Aug 2019, 21:48

Re: DS5 intermittent working satnav/radio

Post by Pawel_K » 12 Aug 2019, 00:13

GiveMeABreak wrote:
12 Aug 2019, 00:01
Pawel_K wrote:
11 Aug 2019, 23:45
GiveMeABreak wrote:
11 Aug 2019, 23:39
Have you scrolled? It is the last option on the menu - so may be on the next screen.
Yes, I only have two options:
-Display configuration
-Speech synthesis setting
but no "Select language"
Ok, in that case what has happened is that the config file is missing that holds the options. This was probably stored in the old internal microSD card. If you don't have access to Diagbox, then it's a trip to the dealer to download the configuration file again and configure the unit with your options. As you are going there to get the Bluetooth calibration file done, they should easily be able to configure the parameters for the ECU for you at the same time.
Is possible to do it with diagbox? or mirascript?
I was wondering if replacing sd card and uploading the firmware (maybe earlier version) again would help? Another question is that if something goes wrong during upload will I be able to put back in sd card I am using now. Short speaking, is it possible changing various sd card with various firmware?

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 15834
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 1471

Re: DS5 intermittent working satnav/radio

Post by GiveMeABreak » 12 Aug 2019, 00:26

Normally with firmware you cannot downgrade to an earlier version. As well as storing the working files and the operating files on the internal MicroSD, I believe it also updates the chip software - so probably not.

You may well be able to do it via Mirascripts - if you are resourceful you can probably locate a guide on doing this - I can only help you with Diagbox and the ECU configuration if you were going down that route.

Pawel_K
Posts: 5
Joined: 11 Aug 2019, 21:48

Re: DS5 intermittent working satnav/radio

Post by Pawel_K » 12 Aug 2019, 00:46

GiveMeABreak wrote:
12 Aug 2019, 00:26
Normally with firmware you cannot downgrade to an earlier version. As well as storing the working files and the operating files on the internal MicroSD, I believe it also updates the chip software - so probably not.

You may well be able to do it via Mirascripts - if you are resourceful you can probably locate a guide on doing this - I can only help you with Diagbox and the ECU configuration if you were going down that route.
I'll come back here when i have access to Diagbox. Thanks

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 15834
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 1471

Re: DS5 intermittent working satnav/radio

Post by GiveMeABreak » 12 Aug 2019, 00:48

@ Pawel: Ok, just pop your VIN up when you do so I can determine the correct parameters for you.

cathalbosco
Posts: 5
Joined: 11 Aug 2019, 22:55

Re: DS5 intermittent working satnav/radio

Post by cathalbosco » 12 Aug 2019, 10:38

GiveMeABreak wrote:
11 Aug 2019, 23:48
cathalbosco wrote:
11 Aug 2019, 23:23
GiveMeABreak wrote:
11 Aug 2019, 23:08
Hi

Make sure the USB is formatted as FAT32 and if you can post a screenshot of the files contained on the USB. Just use the full post editor, then you can press the attachments button at the bottom of the window and upload / place your files in your post.
I loaded the screenshot, hope you can point out where I'm going wrong. Also forgot to mention that it looks like somehow coffee has worked its way in so might be part of the issue.

Thanks In Advance

Cathal
Ok, so from that screenshot, you have mapping files on the USB!

That's not the firmware and it won't boot without a firmware USB in the socket. Do you know what firmware you had before you replaced the MicroSD card? I'm hoping you had a version lower than 2.86, because as you can see from this thread, there will be calibration issues and some options missing when using this version.

You need to get another USB, because you will have to load the map files back onto the system once it has been successfully rebooted, so don't overwrite the content of the USB you have uploaded in the screenshot. Get another USB and format it as FAT32. Let me know what firmware you think you had - normally you would have all that info and the correct firmware before attempting the repair, because now you can't access the menu to see what version you had unless you can remember.

If you can't remember, we'll have to try an earlier version and see if that works to at least get the system booted up.
Hi,

Thanks, good to know I have the maps, but not much use to I get the rest sorted I guess.

I have no idea what the previous version was, as it hasnt been working/ wouldnt let me do anything. The car unforntunalety doesnt seem to have been shown alot of love, so I cant imagine they would have upgraded the FW.

So how do I get a copy of the the firmware,a nd is it best to load via a CD or USB? Will it be an ISO file? The drive is also making a spinning noise as if its looking for a CD to load, is that normal?

Again, Many thanks for the help!

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 15834
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 1471

Re: DS5 intermittent working satnav/radio

Post by GiveMeABreak » 12 Aug 2019, 11:14

@ cathalbosco

I'm sending you a PM

Lynnzer
Posts: 60
Joined: 09 Dec 2004, 19:55
x 2

Re: DS5 intermittent working satnav/radio

Post by Lynnzer » 12 Aug 2019, 11:22

Ah, the "spinning sound" is akin to what was going on with my unit, ie a constant noise as if the cd was trying to load.
The copy of the firmware I downloaded is in a previous post on this topic. It was error free and installed perfectly to 100% however it didn't do much as it was the unit itself that seemed to be beyond repair by any DIY methods.
My new refurbished unit has worked perfectly since I received it, including immediate configuration of all the usual parameters. All I had to do was change the default language. The supplier uses your VIN number to set it all up before dispatching it.
All was lost when I gave in with trying firmware updates, resetting the system etc and I couldn't afford a new unit so took a chance on the reconditioned one from Poland that came with a 12 month warranty. Paid by Visa for safety.
Try a firmware reload using the data on the link in my earlier post, and if that fails I guess you'll need to contact the Polish company.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 15834
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 1471

Re: DS5 intermittent working satnav/radio

Post by GiveMeABreak » 12 Aug 2019, 11:30

I've already put everything he needs in a PM - and I am not recommending the latest firmware to him for the very reason he does not know the version he has on his system currently. He has the links to my firmware files and the version I have suggested is an earlier one - so that if it goes toes up there is a later one he can try as firmware cannot be downgraded.

It may well be he has to get a second hand unit, but for now he is going to try and recover the system. :wink:

cathalbosco
Posts: 5
Joined: 11 Aug 2019, 22:55

Re: DS5 intermittent working satnav/radio

Post by cathalbosco » 12 Aug 2019, 20:19

Hi Marc, thanks for the help.

But it looks like its time to give up. I put the USB in and at the start, it looked good a the USB was glowing like it was loading. Then it kept restarting every 5 mins, and I left it for an hour.

Nothing came up on the screen at any point. Would it be worth trying the latest FW, at least to try and get it to run?

I want to try last chance saloon and order the FW CD for Peugeot, anyone has a link to this? Are all the second-hand units the same or do I need a certain model?

Cathal

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 15834
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 1471

Re: DS5 intermittent working satnav/radio

Post by GiveMeABreak » 12 Aug 2019, 20:31

I'll send you a PM with the firmware link, but you can order the CD a £ or so at a Peugeot dealer. Copied CDs are no good as they usually incorporate some protection - so always use an original if going the CD method.

cathalbosco
Posts: 5
Joined: 11 Aug 2019, 22:55

Re: DS5 intermittent working satnav/radio

Post by cathalbosco » 05 Sep 2019, 21:14

Hi all,

Just an update on my issues

I never had any joy with mine.

I found a guy called Karim in another forum and sent it to him . Fixed for €200 and postage.http://www.autotronics.eu/

Highly recommend if you have no joy with any of the above.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 15834
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 1471

Re: DS5 intermittent working satnav/radio

Post by GiveMeABreak » 05 Sep 2019, 21:23

That's great news - yes Autronics is one that I have already got listed in the Main Telematics section:

viewtopic.php?t=60781

It's good to get a recommendation from a member. Thanks for the update Cathal.